This article explains How to Know if You have been Blocked on WhatsApp. These steps apply to all versions on all devices; Some of these steps are also relevant to WhatsAppWeb.
How to Know if You have been Blocked on WhatsApp?
- Check the Last Seen status of the user. See if there are two check marks in your message. Try to add the user to a group chat.
- If you can’t add him to a group chat, you don’t see their status or there is only a check mark, the user may have blocked you.
- Try to call the user. The call will not be made if you have been blocked.
Check the last seen status of your contact
Here’s how to check the user’s last seen status. Last seen status refers to the last time the contact used WhatsApp.
- Find and open a chat with the user.
If there isn’t one open conversation, find the username and create a new chat.
- The Last Seen status is visible under the user’s name; for example, “last seen today at 10:18 AM”
- If you don’t see anything under the User name, I may have blocked you.
- The lack of a state of “Last seen» it is not necessarily an indication that you have been blocked. WhatsApp has a privacy setting that allows the user to hide their status from «Last seen.
Check the check marks
Messages sent to a contact who has blocked you always show a check mark (indicating that the message was sent), and never show a second check mark (confirming that the message was delivered).
On its own, this could mean that the user has lost their phone or is unable to connect to the Internet. However, if combined with the lack of a Last Seen status, the evidence that you’ve been locked out mounts.
Check for updates to your profile
When someone blocks you on WhatsApp, you won’t see updates to their profile picture. By itself, this is not a definitive clue, since many users do not have profile photos or rarely update them. However, when combined with the lack of a “Last Seen” status and undelivered messages, it’s another indication that you’ve been blocked.
Try to call him on WhatsApp
If you are locked out, a call to the user may not connect, or a warning message may appear. “call failed”
Check the list of participants in a group message
When creating a group message, it may appear that you have successfully added the user, but when you open the group chat, they do not appear in the list of participants. If you try to add a contact who has blocked you through the Add Participants section of the group chat, you will get a Cannot Add Participant error.
WhatsApp is intentionally ambiguous about the block status to protect the privacy of the blocked, and will not notify you if you have been blocked. If you see all of the above indicators, it is likely that your WhatsApp contact has blocked you. If you have been blocked, there is no way to unlock you. The best thing to do is move on or contact the person to find out why they blocked you.
I am Bhumi Shah, a highly skilled digital marketer with over 11 years of experience in digital marketing and content writing in the tech industry.