How to unsend and edit a message in iMessage?

How to unsend and edit a message in iMessage? During the June 6 presentation, which took place as part of WWDC 2022 conferences, Apple has introduced new features for its iMessage messenger. The new version allows modify a message already sent or, if you change your mind, cancel the shipment.

These functions have been working successfully in Telegram for a long time, and WhatsApp only has the ability to change them. Let’s see how the innovations work, what the restrictions are and what the recipient will see if the message is changed or cancelled.

How to unsend and edit a message in iMessage?

iMessage in iOS 16 will let you edit and even delete your messages

Editing iMessages

Editing a message outward practically does not differ from usual sending.

The first thing you need to do to use the new features is to make sure that your iPhone has iOS 16. At the moment the operating system only exists in beta version, so you perform all the actions to your own risk. Before installation, do not forget to create backup copies so as not to lose data.

After iOS 16 Installs on your smartphone to edit messages, follow these steps:

  • Open the Messages app;
  • Navigate to the conversation you want and find the message you want to edit.
  • Hold your finger on it until the context menu opens;
  • Click on the “Edit” button;
  • Make the necessary changes and submit using the blue tick.

However, Apple wouldn’t be Apple if it didn’t add a very important limitation. The message can only be edited within 15 minutes of being sent. If more time has passed, this option is not available.

Most likely, Cupertino did it for ideological reasons, so some important facts that serve as proof of something could not be corrected and twisted over time. Note that even with such a restriction, the presence of such a possibility is better than its absence.

Unsend iMessage

To use the function by cancel sending messages the same preparatory work is necessary – install on your iPhone iOS 16. After installing iOS 16 on your smartphone, to cancel sending messages, you need to follow these steps:

  • Open the Messages app;
  • Navigate to the conversation you want and find the message you want to cancel;
  • Hold your finger on it until the context menu opens;
  • Click the Cancel Send button.

For cancellation of shipment the same restrictions apply as for editing – actions can only be performed within 15 minutes of submission. Below the message, “Sending cancelled” will be displayed. The recipient will also have access to information indicating that the message has been deleted. This is very similar to WhatsApp showing “This message has been deleted” instead of a canceled message.

It’s important to keep in mind that if the recipient is using an older version of iOS, you won’t be able to unsend or edit the message. More precisely, it will turn out, but everything will be displayed in the original version. This feature should be constantly kept in mind, otherwise there will be a lot of people quarreling due to inattention.

In fact, Apple has not introduced anything new, everything has been in other instant messengers. The implementation of new features, as it happens in the minds of Apple, is done with certain restrictions, but the main thing is that everything works. iMessage users are progressing gradually.